Anurag Thakur a refreshing change in BCCI’s leadership

first_imgBoard of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) got its youngest leader (in independent India) in Anurag Thakur after the Bharatiya Janata Party’s member of parliament from Himachal Pradesh was elected unanimously as the head of the board at the Special General Meeting in Mumbai earlier today.The move comes as a refreshing change in BCCI’s leadership as Thakur is known to be a dynamic leader and a go-getter. The 41-year-old has risen through the ranks and has now taken over as the board’s president from Shashank Manohar, who resigned from his post and went on to become the International Cricket Council chairman.At a time when BCCI is facing a lot of heat from the Supreme Court over the reforms proposed by the court-appointed Lodha Committee, Thakur will have a tough time in heading the functioning of the world’s richest cricket board.However, the man is known for his bold moves and single-mindedness to bring in transparency and accountability in the functioning of the board, that was lacking since ages. A lot has been said about how the previous bosses ranging from Jagmohan Dalmiya to N Srinivasan failed to portray the board as an accountable organisation.Also, the board has seen a lot of changes in the last two decades in which the bosses were forced to step down owing to corruption charges and also power-struggle. Here is a list of BCCI presidents who have taken charge of the cricket administration in the country since the start of the 21st century.advertisementJagmohan Dalmiya  2001-04The Kolkata based administrator was the first non-cricketer and Asian to become the ICC chief in 1996. After his five-year stint with the ICC, Dalmiya was appointed as the BCCI president in 2001. Dalmiya was known for his moves that brought in a lot of money into the game. However, he was expelled from the board in 2005 for alleged misappropriation of funds. Ranbir Singh Mahendra 2004- 05Ranbir Singh Mahendra, a Congress politician from Haryana, was appointed as the 27th president of BCCI after a controversy-rich election in 2004. Mahendra, who was the outgoing president Dalmiya’s candidate, tied with rival Sharad Pawar. However, Dalmiya exercised his casting vote to break the deadlock.Sharad Pawar – 2005-08Sharad Pawar, who was the then union minister for Agriculture, ended Dalmiya’s reign at the BCCI which spanned for over a decade, to become the president in 2005. Pawar’s coup against Dalmiya and his aides began in 2004 when he contested against Ranbir. The Maharashtra strongman promised transparency and his main-man was tainted administrator Lalit Modi. Modi had promised a CEO for BCCI back then.Shashank Manohar 2008-11The Nagpur-based lawyer Shashank Manohar is known to have been the mastermind behind Pawar’s coup. Manohar eventually succeeded Pawar to become the president in 2008. Manohar rose through the ranks when he took over as the chief of Vidarbha Cricket Association in 1996. Manohar’s term spanned for three years between 2008-09 and 2010-11. Manohar is known for his transparent approach and played a crucial role in ousting Lalit Modi in 2010.N Srinivasan 2011-13N Srinivasan, who was the Board’s secretary during Manohar’s tenure, took over as BCCI president in 2011. He entered cricket administration as an ally of former president AC Muthiah. Srinivasan has been heading the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association since 2002. However, he stepped down in 2013 to give way to Supreme Court appointed panel to probe him over the spot-fixing scandal that marred the brand value of Indian Premier League in 2013.Jagmohan Dalmiya 2013-13 (Interim)Jagmohan Dalmiya again came to power, this time as Srinivasan’s aide after the Supreme Court, in September, restrained him from holding the BCCI top post.  N Srinivasan 2013-14Srinivasan got back to power in November 2013, when the Supreme Court allowed him to take over as BCCI president. Again in March 2014, the Supreme Court, citing conflict of interest, ordered against him and he was forced to step down as the BCCI chief.However, he was appointed as ICC chairman in 2014 and he continued to hold on to the post till 2015. Srinivasan even gave away the World Cup trophy in 2015 to the victorious Australian team which was supposed to be the duty of the then ICC president from Bangladesh, Mustafa Kamal.Sunil Gavaskar 2014-14 (Interim)Sunil Gavaskar was appointed as the BCCI president during the 2014 IPL to handle the tournament affairs. After the end of the tournament, former off-spinner Shivlal Yadav was given the responsibility to lead the board as its interim president.Jagmohan Dalmiya 2015-15Putting an end to the Srinivasan saga, Dalmiya was unanimously elected the BCCI president for a second term in March 2015. The Cricket Association of Bengal Chief, whose health was a concern, had to be assisted in most of the board’s meetings. Dalmiya died in chair last September after he suffered a heart-attack. It again left a vacancy in the BCCI supremo position.advertisementShashank Manohar 2015-10 May 2016 Manohar was appointed as the BCCI chief for the second time in 2015. The seasoned cricket administrator promised reforms to clean the tarnished image of the board. Manohar eventually replaced Srinivasan as India’s representative at ICC. Manohar shook the administration of ICC by abolishing the concept of ‘Big Three’, which gave more financial advantages to India, Australia and England.However, the Lodha Panel heat forced him to quit the BCCI post. He went on to become the first independent chairman of the ICC earlier this year.last_img